Speedway racing has been staged at Poole Stadium since April 1948, when the Poole Pirates took to the Wimborne Road raceway for the first time. The sport soon became the town’s number one sporting attraction bringing in fans from all parts of the county.

Situated near to the centre of town, Poole Stadium is one of the best provincial stadiums, boasting a 300 seat restaurant , bars and fast food outlets, plus grandstand seating for 1200 spectators.

The original circuit measured 384 metres/420 yards and was cinder surfaced up until the beginning of 1950 when it was relaid with red shale. This track stayed in use until 1960, since when there have been a further four race tracks of different sizes with the present 299.1 metre/ 327 yard circuit in use since 1996. As well as staging league speedway meetings, the stadium has also hosted many of the world’s top individual and team championships, including the final of the 2004 FIM Speedway World Cup.

The club were crowned Third Division champions in 1951, and Second Division Champions in 1952, to become the first side to be promoted from the Third to the First Division of domestic speedway.

Currently one of the top clubs in World speedway, Poole have won the First Division championship on ten occasions, seven of these coming in the past 15 years. The club has also lifted the BSPA Knockout Cup a total of six times.  The club honours board reads :

Division One Winners                                    1969 , 1994, 2003, 2004, 2008, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2018,
Division Two Winners                                    1952, 1955, 1961, 1962, 1989, 1990
Division Three Winners                                 1951
Southern League Winners                             1962, 1963, 1964

Division One Runners Up                             1992, 1999 , 2001, 2010, 2012,
Division Two Runners Up                             1953, 1954, 1960, 1985, 1986, 1988
Division Three Runners Up                          1950